Powers of the Government

As an extension to the three levels of  governments, they are broken up into three smaller branches : Executive, Legislative and Judiciary.


The Executive Branch has the power to administer a country, province or city. They use this power to carry out laws. In the Federal level, the people in this branch are: the Monarch, Governor General, Prime Minister and the Cabinet. Provincial and Municipal levels have corresponding jobs.


The Legislative branch has the power to make change or repeal laws. This includes the Monarch, Governor General, House and Senates. Provincial and Municipal levels have corresponding jobs too.


The Judiciary branch interprets the meaning and intent of laws and constitutions. The Supreme Court of Canada and the Federal Judges make sure that laws do not contradict the Charter of Rights and Freedoms.  The Provincial  levels have corresponding positions, but the Municipal do not.

Canada’s Parliament System
*image made by me


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: